Search

Avis R. Crumbliss


July 23, 1923 ~ March 1, 2014


Avis Rae Crumbliss passed away March 1, 2014 at the Golden Living Center in Wellington, Kansas following an extended illness, at the age of 90. Avis was born in Medford, Oklahoma on July 23, 1923 to Raymond and Minnie Dunham. On October 18, 1941 she was united in marriage to Richard W. “Dick” Crumbliss.


Avis was a loving wife, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother and great-great-grandmother. Her family was her greatest joy. Dick and Avis were lifelong farmers in the Corbin area. Avis had few hobbies other than helping with the farm and caring for her family. She was a member of the Corbin United Methodist Church while on the farm at Corbin. After moving to Caldwell later in life she transferred her membership to the Caldwell United Methodist Church. She enjoyed being in the UMW and working with the ladies on turkey suppers and church dinners.


She was preceded in death by her parents, husband Dick, sister Darlene, brother Roland, daughter Nancy Mazzaferro, grandson Richard J. Crumbliss, sons-in law Jim Mazzaferro, Steve King and Billy Weston.


Survivors include son Richard L. and wife Karen Crumbliss of Caldwell, son Jack and wife Jeri Crumbliss of Arkansas City; daughter Cindy King of Augusta; grandchildren, Justin Crumbliss, Amber (Matt) Servis, Courtney (Garrett) Gilmore, Casey (Kara) Crumbliss, Conner (Audrey) Crumbliss, Holly (Eric) Wells and Chase Weston, great-grandchildren, Richard S. (Jill) Crumbliss, Audie Crumbliss, Ella and Henry Crumbliss; Gunner, Cadence and Beckett Gilmore; Xander Servis, Teegan and Hadley Wells; great-great-grandchildren Piper, Richard A. and Marrin Crumbliss; numerous nieces and nephews and many friends.


Funeral services will be held 10:00 a.m. Thursday, March 6, 2014 at the United Methodist Church in Caldwell.


Memorials may be given in memory of Avis to the Caldwell United Methodist Church or to the Sumner County Hospital District #1.


Friends may call at the mortuary from 9:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. Monday, March 3 until Wednesday March 5, 2014.


Leave Condolences

Condolences

Cheryl Warner

Family and Friends - 03/02/2014

I am sorry to hear of Avis passing. But at the same time am happy for her. I had a long talk with her one time and she didn't want to end up in a nursing home and being a burden on her much loved family. Now she is home with Dick and Nancy. I always enjoyed visiting with her at the store. She was a very nice lady.

It is very hard to lose those we love and am sending hugs and prayers to all the family who loved her. You were her world and she loved you all.


-

Jo Rice Roitman

Family and Friends - 03/03/2014

Dickie, Jack and Cindy,


A Corbin neighbor we all loved. Avis was one of those people you just wanted to hang out with. Always fun to chat with her. She lived a good, long life but it's difficult to see her go. Thinking of all of you. Jo


-

Lawrence Cowan

Family and Friends - 03/04/2014

Dear Mr. Crumbliss (Jack) & Family,


Please accept our condolences on the loss of your mother. Your family is in our thoughts and prayers.


Sincerely,

Lawrene Cowan, ACHS class of 1988 & Family

Tiffanny (Sparks) Cowan ACHS class of 1985


-

Denny & Glynda Young

Family and Friends - 03/04/2014

We are saddened for the loss of your Mother & Grandmother. It seems like a final good bye to a generation when our parents leave us. May you all gather together and treasure the family memories that were centered around them. We will keep you in our thoughts & prayers . Denny & Glynda


-

Greg & Cindy Wolff

Family and Friends - 03/06/2014

Jack & Family


You are in our thoughts and prayers. I remember the square dances we used to go to with our parents. Sorry to hear of your loss.


Greg & Cindy Wolff


-

Just discovered your passing.

Larry Morrow - 01/10/2020

Just discovered your passing. Richard and Avis were friends of my parents Norman and Frances Morrow of Lubbock, Tx. They always spoke very highly of that funny, loving Crumbliss clan. I remember Dickie very well. I hope one of the family will read this and bring me up to date on the Crumbliss family. Larry Morrow 214-215-2635. Thank you and God bless you all.

side-floral.png

Please know that all IP Addresses are recorded for all submissions.